MENU
< BACK TO PROFILES

MARIANA LATIMER

Industrial Engineering

Favorite Music:
Alternative rock
Tell us something unusual about yourself - something that makes you special, unique and not a "typical" STEMinista:
I love to travel! I have been to Japan, Brazil, France, Germany, Italy, Belgium and the Netherlands besides several places in Mexico. I also love to hike and travel locally. My goal is to be able to hike in all he national parks in the US ( I did Yosemite and and Grand Canyon with my husband last year. I hope to get a few more this year )
Where are you from? Where were you born and/or raised?
Mexico City
What are you doing/plan to do with your STEM degree?
I work in the automotive industry for a German-based company in the finance department as a cost engineering manager. We quote new projects that will be manufactured in 2- 4 years! My team is very international with 2 Americans, one Romanian and 2 people in Mexico that I manage remotely, which makes it a great challenge.
Who is your hero or favorite role model? And why?
My mother has been my role model, but also the person that has affected my life the most. She was not able to finish high school while growing up, nevertheless she is one of the smartest people I know. She was able to raise my sister and me as a single mother and allow us to study in one of the best colleges in Mexico, which is the reason why I can be where I am now.
Favorite Dessert:
Strawberry cheese cake
What's the one thing you want to accomplish before the year 2025?
I would like to have a masters degree and be able to get a senior management position within my industry.
Who was the best teacher you ever had and why?
My physics teacher in high school is the reason why I decided to go into engineering, he was great at showing us problems in such a simple and fun way that it was always so easy to learn!
< BACK TO PROFILES

Let’s bond.

Sign up to be the first to hear about new exhibits and events.

Thanks for contacting us! We will get in touch with you shortly.